A Big Hand for 8 Hands Round

Chair, AntiqueOn Tuesday I spoke to the Potomac West Business Association (now the Del Ray Business Association) about the upcoming Big Flea. PWBA members have been supportive of our school PTA in the past and we’re hoping to build upon that in 2008.

After my brief remarks, one of the meeting participants asked if I could take a rocking chair off her hands, right now. I said yes, sight unseen, and boy was that a good decision!

Cynthia Gompert, owner of Eight Hands Round, had decided to get rid of a 19th century rocking chair built in the Shenandoah valley. Of beautiful shape and form, the chair retains its original finish, original cane seating and exhibits the flat head nails typical of that era’s construction (I’ve been watching too much Antiques Roadshow).

“This chair fell on me the other day,” Gompert said as she helped me load it into my car, ” so I decided it was time to get rid of it. You saved me a trip to the Goodwill.” Gompert, whose store is located at 2301 Mount Vernon Avenue, also said she may be willing to donate additional items to the cause.

Many thanks to Cynthia and the rest of the Del Ray Business Association for your support of the Mount Vernon Community School.

Leave a Reply

