Big Flea Scores Sweet LP Collection

DevoHaving bought my fair share of vinyl LPs back in the day, I was pumped to get Diane Archer’s email. Yes, she’d finally convinced her husband to simplify his life (not to mention their living room) and give up his prized collection of LPs. Did we want them for the Big Flea?, Diane wanted to know.

As Akron’s poet laureates sing, “When a good thing comes along, you must whip it.”

I wanted to zoom over to Diane’s and pick ’em up then and there. Most of the LP collections I come across are drek – ultrascratched 101 Strings, John Denver and Andy Williams Christmas albums in falling-apart jackets. But something told me that this was going to be different.

Sunday came around and I picked up the collection (along with a changing table and other items Diane collected on our behalf). After 2 minutes I realized it was better than I even expected. Hubby Mike’s donation included 250 classic rock and roll and alternative albums from the 197os and 1980s. They are in immaculate condition, and many were puchased overseas. SCORE!

LPs1I was especially psyched about the more than 100 alternative records. Included among them was Joy Division (including a rare Spanish pressing of Unknown Pleasures), David Bowie, Duran Duran, Roxy Music, Police, U2, Oingo Boingo, Blondie, Siouxsie and the Banshees and more. The remaining 150 albums were classic rock groups like Yes, Pink Floyd, Peter Gabriel, Jimi Hendrix, Neil Young, Led Zeppelin and many more.

LPs2We’re now selling the records in two groups, one includes more than 100 alternative albums and the other more than 100 classic rock LPs. We’re also selling some of the more unusual copies separately on Ebay. I estimate that together the 250 albums will fetch between $250 and $300. Not a bad donation (and boy have they been a lot of fun to listen to!).

Diane and Mike are going to get some kind of award from us for all the work they’ve done to make this event a success. Maybe I’ll honor her with one of my award-winning video profiles. Does anyone have an old trophy to donate?

Remember – drop off you items this Saturday from 930am to 1230pm at 409 E Alexandria Avenue in Del Ray. If you need a pickup, just shoot me an email at joseph.lamountain@gmail.com or call me at 202.288.5124.

Leave a Reply

