A $100 Calculator & This Week’s Drop-off Info

HP-32SMan, am I good.  I don’t know if it’s a sixth sense or just dumb luck, but I seem to have the uncanny ability to identify items that are worth a lot of money.

For years, I used this skill with books.  On dozens of occasions I purchased a book for fifty cents and sold it for fifty dollars or more.  I even pulled books out of the trash, one of which I sold more more than $125.  Not only was it a fun hobby, but it provided a nice little bit of income for a couple years.

Now these skills are being put to work for the MV Big Flea.  At the storage unit two nights ago, I sifted through a box of items someone dropped off when I wasn’t around.  I’m not sure why I noticed it among the other treasures, but an old scientific calculator (with the original owner’s manual) caught my eye.

I brought it home and did a little research.  To my great surprise, I learned that the Hewlett Packard HP-32S from 1988 is still a highly desired.  I’m not sure if it’s a computing collectible or is simply a great machine that’s still in demand.  But I do know that it’s worth about $100; in fact, one sold on Ebay last week for $145!  Whodathunkit?

Do you have any buried treasures to donate?  Then drop them off this Saturday between 930am and 1230pm at our storage space at 409 E Alexandria Avenue.  The garage is nearly full, so this will probably be our last weekend there.  If possible, please bring your items in heavy cardboard boxes with lids as they are easier for us to store.

Thank you again to everyone that is making this event a success.

Leave a Reply

